SONG OF TREASON (FREE COUNTRY)

Initially published in the UK as FREE COUNTRY

Simon & Schuster UK and Canada, hardcover

Simon & Schuster UK and Canada, paperback and ebook

May 1, 1969: Paul Dark now finds himself a target for both exposure, and assassination. Desperate to escape his predicament, he gambles everything on one last throw of the dice, exposing his Soviet handler to the British. But before long, he finds he has no choice but to go on the run again, and the race is on to stop a deadly conspiracy that dates back to the early years of the Cold War. The second part of the Paul Dark trilogy, Song of Treason is another sweat-soaked Sixties-set spy thriller in the tradition of Len Deighton and Frederick Forsyth. Previously published in hardback and trade paperback under the title Free Country.

‘A blast from the past… a taut and tortured exploration of betrayal on the national, ideological and personal levels simultaneously… A cleverly twisted tale of intrigue and deception, this is a masterly excursion back to the bad old days of the Cold War.’ – The Times

‘With its subtly deployed late-60s feel, Free Country is a treat for fans of traditional Len Deighton-style thrillers.’ – The Guardian

‘Three-part homage to the morally ambiguous Sixties thrillers of le Carré and Deighton… nuanced to the hilt.’ – The Daily Telegraph

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s